Sofia Coppola Is the Second Woman to Win Cannes Directing Prize


Sofia Coppola has become the second woman to win Best Director at the Cannes Film Festival. The first woman to win was Yuliya Solntseva in 1961 for “The Story of the Flaming Years.”

A full list of winners is:

Palme d’Or: “The Square,” a Swedish art-world satire directed by Ruben Östlund

Grand Prix: “120 Beats Per Minute,” an AIDS drama directed by Robin Campillo

Jury Prize: “Loveless,” a Russian missing-child drama directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev

Best Actress: Diane Kruger, “In the Fade”

Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, “You Were Never Really Here”

Best Director: Sofia Coppola, “The Beguiled”

Best Screenplay: a tie between “You Were Never Really Here” (written by Lynne Ramsay) and “The Killing of a Sacred Deer” (written by Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou)

Camera d’Or, honoring the best debut feature: “Jeune Femme,” directed by Léonor Sérraille

Best Short Film: “A Gentle Night,” directed by Qiu Yang

70th Anniversary Prize: Nicole Kidman, who starred in four Cannes titles (”The Beguiled,” “The Killing of a Sacred Deer,” “How to Talk to Girls at Parties” and “Top of the Lake: China Girl”)

Image via Elle.